Jack D. Gordon Elementary    

 

 

FIRST GRADE

MANATEE

PANTHER

Ms. Centeno 
tigger@dadeschools.net

Ms. Simon

juliec@dadeschools.net

Ms. Merwitzer

merwitzerr@dadeschools.net

Ms. Matilla

mmatilla@dadeschools.net

Ms. Fitzsimmons

kfitzsimmons@dadeschools.net

Ms. Hitt

hittpam@dadeschools.net

Ms. Reed

dbreed@dadeschools.net

Ms. Martinez

mmartinez4@dadeschools.net

Ms. Portillo

portillo@dadeschools.net

Ms. Medina

KathrynMedina@dadeschools.net

   

HOW THEY GROW IN FIRST GRADE

The average 6-year old is extremely egocentric and wants to be the center of attention.

He/She:

*Wants to be the "best" and "first". May be oppositional, silly, brash and critical.

*Cries easily; shows a variety of tension-releasing behavior.

*Is attached to the teacher.

*Has difficulty being flexible.

*Often considers fantasy real.

WHAT WILL THEY LEARN?

In first grade, your child will have to interact with his classroom teacher.

The school day will become longer. He'll eat at school and go to and from

school with limited assistance.   He'll also have some homework

assignments.   Find out what else your child will learn this year.

*Read at least 100 sight words.

*Locate the main idea and details in stories.

*Recall the sequence of events in oral and written stories.

*Print words legibly.

*Write words legibly in manuscript form.

*Capitalize the first word in a sentence and use the period and question mark at the end of a sentence.

*Recognize the singular and plural forms of nouns.

*Count to 100 by one's, two's, five's, and ten's.

*Write the numerals to 100.

*Add and subtract numbers up to and from 10.

*Use simple maps and globes.

*Make more detailed obser4rvations of the natural world.

SUPPLIES

Each individual teacher has a specific list of supplies that

he or she requires for their class.

 

Please send your child on the first day of school with 

the basics (pencils, a folder, paper, crayons, etc...)

 

Your child's teacher will send home the required

supply list for his or her class on the first day of class.