Jack D. Gordon Elementary    

 

SECOND GRADE

Ms. Rodriguez

rodriguezm22@dadeschools.net

Ms. Lacaci

lacacis@dadeschools.net

Ms. Kline

lbarron1@dadeschools.net

Ms. Soberon

jsoberon@dadeschools.net

Ms. Sims

vsims2@dadeschools.net

Ms. Kelly

dbkelly@dadeschools.net

Ms. Torra

ktorra@dadeschools.net

Ms. Givens

dgivens@dadeschools.net

 

Ms. Anastacio

anastacio@dadeschools.net

 

Ms. Hernandez

tamarahernandez@dadeschools.net 

 

 

How They Grow in Second Grade?

What Will They Learn?

At seven, kids begin to calm down a bit. They:

  Begin to reason and concentrate.

  Worry, are self-critical, and may express a lack of confidence.

  Demand more of their teacher's time.

  Dislike being singled out, even for praise.

Where They're Going
At seven years old, your child is continuing to learn about herself and others. You can help by encouraging her as she:

  Develops a concept of herself.

  Begins to understand others.

  Gains respect for others.

  Builds relationships with others.

  Develops a sense of responsibility

There's lots of review in second grade, so that students truly master all the skills presented in first grade. Your child will also learn to recognize familiar words more rapidly, read new words, add and subtract faster, compose more complex sentences, spell many new words, and increase her reading and speaking vocabularies. Find out what else your child will learn this year.

  Apply more complex phonics skills in his reading.

  Automatically read the 200 most commonly used words.

  Write sentences using correct punctuation and capitalization.

  Recognize and use nouns and action verbs in sentences.

  Begin writing in cursive.

  Write legibly in cursive.

  Add and subtract any 2-digit number.

  Handle place value concepts for 3-digit whole numbers.

  Identify time to include half-hour and 5-minute intervals.

  Identify the value of pennies, nickels, dimes, quarters, half-dollars, and dollars.

  Value people from many cultures.   Develop a simple understanding of life, earth, and physical sciences.

SUPPLIES

Each individual teacher has a specific list

of supplies that he or she requires for their class.

 

Please send your child on the first day of school

with the basics (pencils, a folder, paper, crayons, etc...)

 

Your child's teacher will send home the

required supply list for his or her class

on the first day of class.